Skip to content

Forty-six golfers were the beneficiaries of superb weather for this year’s event held at Green Acres Golf Club in Kew East on March 4.  These included thirteen junior doctors from the hospital welcomed as honorary guests of the Association.


The Doyle – O’Sullivan perpetual trophy

The individual winner was anaesthetist Dr Simon Jones whose name will now be inscribed on the handsome silver cup donated by Dr Leo Doyle and Dr John O’Sullivan in 1935. Simon won on a count back from last year’s winner, radiologist Dr Nick Gelber.

Nick Gelber, last year’s winner presenting the trophy to Simon Jones, the new champion with the Alumni Golf Day organiser David Olive

The very happy winner, Dr Simon Jones

The team’s event was won by the four of Drs Keck (colo-rectal surgery), Gelber (radiology), Wyss (anaesthesia) and Jones (anaesthesia), the straightest drive by Dr Jeremy Hammond (general physician) and the two nearest the pin prizes by Drs David Olive (anaesthesia) and Justin O’Day (ophthalmology).

Once again our major sponsors were DPM Medical Financial Services and St Vincent’s Pathology with additional support coming from the Senior Medical Staff at St Vincent’s and from Zouki Catering and Clutch and Co Golf Apparel.  The DPM door prize was won by RMO Dr Liam O’Bryan.

The convenor of our golf day, Dr David Olive, assisted by Ms Sue Mabilia in our office, received the thanks and praise of all participants as did the helpful and friendly crew at Green Acres Golf Club.

Watch out for the date of next year’s event.                                     

The future of our golf day – junior doctors from St Vincent’s

At the Annual General Meeting of the Association held on Monday, 28 February 2022, Dr Michael Henderson was elected as the new President of the Association, taking over from Dr Kerry Breen who has stepped down after serving almost continuously since 2010. The following members were re-elected to the Committee:  Dr Michael Davies (Secretary and Treasurer) and Drs Jill Spargo, David Olive, Jacinta Mogg and Brendan de Morton (general committee members).

Your new President, Michael Henderson, has a long professional and family association with St Vincent’s.  He graduated via the St Vincent’s Clinical School in 1977 and trained in general surgery at St Vincent’s, followed by training in Surgical Oncology at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Centre in Houston. He then returned to join the Senior Medical Staff at St Vincent’s in Prof Dick Bennett’s University Department of Surgery.  He was head of the Breast Unit at St Vincent’s until 2018 and in 2000 took on a substantive role in Surgical Oncology at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre. Currently he is Professor of Surgery in the University of Melbourne and surgeon in the Melanoma and Skin, Breast and Sarcoma Service at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre. His other roles include medical education and an active research program and at present is the Principal Investigator of an NHMRC funded major international trial of surgery in melanoma.

This year’s Annual Cocktail Party and Historical Address will be held on Sunday 16 June 2019. Our speaker will be Ms Robyn Fahy a PhD student at the University of Melbourne who is studying the remarkable life of St Vincent’s medical graduate and nun, Mary Glowrey. Robyn co-authored a short paper about Sr Glowrey in the Medical Journal of Australia in 2015 (Vol 203, no 11, pp 450-451). The title of her address is: ‘Dr Sr Mary Glowrey JMJ, MBBS, 1910, MD 1919: Australia’s Second Saint?’

The event runs from 4.30pm to 8.00pm in Education and Learning, Third Floor, Building C (Healy Wing) at St Vincent’s Hospital.

For further information, please email Sue Mabilia ( or tel. 9231 2304.

The annual golf day was held at Green Acres Golf Club in Kew on Friday March 22 on a beautiful sunny day. The individual event was won by Dr David Olive, with the runner-up being Dr Ian Balson. David will now have his name on the Doyle/O’Sullivan Cup along with all the other winners since 1935. The win was very popular as David is a long-time supporter of the event and has been the event convenor for several years. David is pictured below alongside the Association’s stalwart administrator/secretary, Ms Sue Mabilia, who presented the Cup to him.

Thanks to generous sponsorship from Doquile Perrett Meade Financial Services, St. Vincent’s Pathology, Zouki Catering and the St Vincent’s Senior Medical Staff Association, there were other prizes on offer. The best combined group score was won by the combination of Ian Balson, Bill Connell, Simon Jones and David Olive while Michael Yii won the straightest drive and one of the nearest the pin prizes. The second nearest the pin prize was won by Alex Poon.

We were delighted to see some of our younger members present and we thank St Vincent’s Hospital and their clinical supervisors for giving them the time off to participate in this wonderful event.

For all golfers, please note in your diary that the date for next year’s event is Friday 20th March 2020.