Skip to content

Background: In cooperation with the Archives Department at St Vincent’s, the Medical Alumni Association is pleased to make the essays that have been awarded the Bryan Egan Memorial History Prize available on our website. 

The prize encourages the recording of St Vincent’s history from multiple perspectives with the goal of developing the source material available to the Archives, encouraging research and increasing knowledge.

It was established through a generous donation by the Egan family in memory of St Vincent’s alumnus and historian Dr Bryan Egan (1922-2008).   More recently the St Vincent’s Hospital Medical Alumni Association has donated funds to supplement the awards that can be made. 

The 2015 prize winners: In 2015 there were joint winners of the Bryan Egan Prize.  Reproduced here is the first of the two prize winning contributions for that year.

The 2016 Cocktail Party and History Talk will be held on Sunday, July 31. The 2016 talk will be on the topic of “Bodies, bits, bugs and blood: A history of pathology services at St Vincent’s”.  The talk will be given by Dr Lynda Campbell, Immediate Past Director of Cytogenetics Services at SVH and a member of the Hospital Archives Committee.
Please keep the afternoon and evening free as the event will run from 4.30 pm until 8.00 pm. More information and registration details will be sent early in 2016 to all alumni for whom we have email addresses.

The Annual General Meeting of the Association was held  on Monday February 22, 2016. The committee for 2016 consists of Dr Kerry Breen, President, Dr Michael Davies, Secretary/Treasurer and Drs Jill Spargo, David Olive, Jacinta Mogg and Brendan de Morton as committee members. Dr Bernadette Hickey, Chair of the St Vincent's Senior Medical Staff Association is an ex-officio member.