Skip to content

New President for the Association

At the Annual General Meeting of the Association held on Monday, 28 February 2022, Dr Michael Henderson was elected as the new President of the Association, taking over from Dr Kerry Breen who has stepped down after serving almost continuously since 2010. The following members were re-elected to the Committee:  Dr Michael Davies (Secretary and Treasurer) and Drs Jill Spargo, David Olive, Jacinta Mogg and Brendan de Morton (general committee members).

Your new President, Michael Henderson, has a long professional and family association with St Vincent’s.  He graduated via the St Vincent’s Clinical School in 1977 and trained in general surgery at St Vincent’s, followed by training in Surgical Oncology at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Centre in Houston. He then returned to join the Senior Medical Staff at St Vincent’s in Prof Dick Bennett’s University Department of Surgery.  He was head of the Breast Unit at St Vincent’s until 2018 and in 2000 took on a substantive role in Surgical Oncology at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre. Currently he is Professor of Surgery in the University of Melbourne and surgeon in the Melanoma and Skin, Breast and Sarcoma Service at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre. His other roles include medical education and an active research program and at present is the Principal Investigator of an NHMRC funded major international trial of surgery in melanoma.